JOE SATRIANI, STEVE VAI and more Featured On JASON BECKER's New Album

11 October 2018
news page

Music Theories Recordings/Mascot Label Group will release the new album from Jason Becker, 'Triumphant Hearts', on December 7.

Becker's story is one of brilliance, talent, determination, adversity, and, ultimately, triumph. A child prodigy on guitar, Jason rose to prominence as a teenager when he was one half of the technical guitar duo CACOPHONY, with his great friend Marty Friedman. In 1989, at only 19 years old and after wowing audiences all over the world, the young virtuoso became the guitarist for David Lee Roth, following in the huge footsteps of Eddie Van Halen and Steve Vai. He wrote and recorded on Roth's third solo album, 'A Little Ain't Enough', and was poised for superstardom when a nagging pain in his leg was diagnosed as Motor Neurone Disease (MND), also known as Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig's Disease, the same condition Stephen Hawking lived with for over five decades. It is a fatal condition with a life expectancy of maybe five years. Maybe.
That was 29 years ago. He lost the ability to play guitar, walk, talk, and breathe on his own. But never lost his will to live or his desire to create music. Communicating through a series of eye movements with a system developed by his father, Jason spells out words as well as musical notes and chords. He imparts his musical vision to his team who then can input the notes into a computer, edit the parts to his exacting standards, and then generate charts for session musicians. His inspiring music and life story have been the subject of countless news articles, magazine cover stories, and an award-winning documentary, 'Jason Becker: Not Dead Yet'.
The album's 14 tracks showcase Jason's gift for melody and his deep knowledge of classical composition and orchestral arrangement. Many of the guitar parts are performed by a who's who of six-string gods, including Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Neal Schon, Steve Morse, Paul Gilbert, Joe Bonamassa, and many others. And, in what will absolutely delight his fans, Jason's amazing guitar playing — recorded in the '80s and '90s — features throughout.
The first song to be released from the album is the beautifully mesmerizing nine-minute-and-five-second instrumental 'Valley Of Fire' that features The Magnificent 13 - Steve Vai, Joe Bonamassa, Paul Gilbert, Neal Schon, Marty Friedman, Michael Lee Firkins, Mattias IA Eklundh, Greg Howe, Jeff Loomis, Richie Kotzen, Gus G., Steve Hunter and Ben Woods. A phenomenal cast to feature on a single song. 
'Triumphant Hearts' track listing:
01. Triumphant Heart (ft. Marty Friedman, Gluaco Bertagnin, Hiyori Okuda) 
02. Hold On To Love (ft. Codany Holiday) 
03. Fantasy Weaver (ft. Jake Shimabukuro) 
04. Once Upon A Melody 
05. We Are One (ft. Steve Knight) 
06. Magic Woman (ft. Uli Jon Roth, Chris Broderick) 
07. Blowin' In The Wind 
08. River Of Longing (ft. Jon Satiriani, Aleks Sever, Guthrie Govan, Steve Morse) 
09. Valley Of Fire (ft. The Magnificent 13) 
10. River Of Longing (ft. Trevor Rabin) 
11. Taking Me Back 
12. Tell Me No Lies 
13. Hold On To Love (ft. Codany Holiday) [Chuck Zwicky Remix] 
14. You Do It